The Cambridge Geek

2019 BBC Audio Drama Awards

The BBC Audio Drama Awards are given out every year to the best audio drama in various categories. See below for them all (with links to each where available).

Original Single Drama

Winner - County Lines by Amelia Bullmore

Finalist - 19 Weeks by Emily Street

Finalist - The Chosen One by Avi Garvi

Shortlist - All of the Beauty in the World by Eve Steel

Shortlist - Holbein’s Skull by Martyn Wade

Shortlist - The Trials of CB King by David Morley

Original Series or Serial

Winner - The Truth about Hawaii by Oliver Emanuel

Finalist - Stone by Multiple
- Amazon UK

Finalist - Tommies by Avin Shah
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - Subterranean Homesick Blues by A. L. Kennedy
- My Review

Shortlist - The Unforgiven by Barbara Machin

Shortlist - The Wilsons Save the World by Marcus Brigstocke & Sarah Morgan
- My Review


Winner - A Tale of Two Cities: Aleppo and London by Charles Dickens

Finalist - Das Kapital by Karl Marx

Finalist - Love Henry James: The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

Shortlist - Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter

Shortlist - The Art of Foot-binding by Danielle McLauglin

Shortlist - Based on a True Story by Delphine de Vigan


Winner - David Threlfall in Spike and the Elfin Oak

Finalist - Liam Brennan in Five Days Which Changed Everything

Finalist - Jasper Britton in A Month of Maureen – Three Journeys

Shortlist - Derek Jacobi in The War Master 1.1 – Beneath the Viscoid
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - George McKay in The Glass Menagerie

Shortlist - David Tennant in Wild Honey


Winner - Eve Myles in 19 Weeks

Finalist - Sudha Bhuchar in My Son the Doctor

Finalist - Sydney Wade in D for Dexter

Shortlist - Jessie Buckley in The Effect

Shortlist - Mandeep Dhillon in Freezing to Death (And How to Avoid It)

Shortlist - Jo Martin in The Interrogation
- Amazon UK


Winner - Abigail le Fleming for The Effect

Finalist - Steve Bond & Judith Kampfner for Shadowbahn

Finalist - Peter Kavanagh for The Wild Duck

Shortlist - Ewa Banaszkiewicz & Mateus Dymek for The King of the Flat White

Shortlist - Shan Ng for Tiger Girls

Debut Performance

Winner - Daisy Head in Love Henry James: the Golden Bowl

Finalist - Karlo Diaz in The Beast

Finalist - Georgia Scholes in Billie Homeless Dies at the End

Shortlist - Salvatore D’Aquilla in Operation Crucible

Shortlist - Yolanda Mercy in Quarter Life Crisis

Shortlist - Rebekah Murrell in The Gift

Use of Sound

Winner - Love Henry James: The Turn of the Screw

Finalist - The Beast

Finalist - Unmade Movies: Dennis Potter’s The White Hotel

Shortlist - Anansi Boys
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - The Quanderhorn Xperimentations
- My Review

Shortlist - A Taxi Stops

Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Winner - Robert Newman’s Total Eclipse of Descartes by Rob Newman
- My Review

Finalist - Bridget Christie’s Utopia by Bridget Christie
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Finalist - Tim Key’s Late-Night Poetry Programme by Tim Key
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - Ability by Lee Ridley & Katherine Jakeways
- My Review

Shortlist - Mae Martin’s Guide to 21st Century Addiction by Mae Martin
- My Review

Shortlist - Plum House by Ben Cottam & Paul McKenna
- My Review

Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

Winner - John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme by John Finnemore
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Finalist - Agendum by Jason Hazeley & Joel Morris
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Finalist - Dead Ringers by Multiple
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - Lucy Porter in the Family Way by Lucy Porter

Shortlist - Newsjack by Multiple

Shortlist - Sketchtopia by Multiple
- My Review

Shortlist - Thanks a Lot, Milton Jones by Milton Jones, James Cary & Dan Evans
- Amazon UK

Podcast or Online Audio Drama

Winner - Red Moon by Robert Valentine

Finalist - ATA Girl by Multiple
- Amazon UK

Finalist - Tracks: Strata by Matthew Broughton

Shortlist - Blind Terror by Guy Adams
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - Blood on Satan’s Claw by Robert Wynne-Simmons
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - Double Bubble by Carl Cattermole

European Drama

Winner - Munch and Munch by Jasna Mesarić

Finalist - The Confession by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Finalist - Wrapped by Tracy Martin

Shortlist - 100 Songs by Roland Schimmelpfennig

Shortlist - The Cremator by Ladislav Fuks

Shortlist - The Day It Rained 449 Franz Klammers by Mathias Cavelty

Shortlist - July 22nd: How Could It Happen? by Mathias Calmeyer

Imison Award

Winner - Lulu Raczka for Of A Lifetime

Finalist - Ian Billings for Spike and the Elfin Oak

Finalist - Carl Cattermole for Double Bubble

Tinniswood Award

Winner - Oliver Wood for When the Pips Stop

Finalist - Vivienne Harvey for Playing Dead

Finalist - Martyn Wade for Holbein's Skull

Outstanding Contribution

Winner - Home Front

Tagged: Awards Audio BBC

2019 Audio Award Database

2019 BBC Audio Drama Awards