The Cambridge Geek

2021 BBC Audio Drama Awards

The BBC Audio Drama Awards are given out every year to the best audio drama in various categories. See below for the list of Award Winners and Finalists (with links to each).

Original Single Drama

Winner - Magnitsky the Musical by Robert Hudson and Johnny Flynn

Finalist - Eight Point Nine Nine by James Fritz

Finalist - The Likes of Us by Roy Williams

Shortlist - The Ballad of Bobby Sands by Tom Kelly

Shortlist - Happiness! by Ian Billings

Shortlist - The Other Tchaikovsky by Harriet Madeley

Original Series or Serial

Winner - Broken English by Shelagh Stephenson

Finalist - 24 Kildare Road by Katie Hims

Finalist - Body Horror by Lucy Catherine

Shortlist - D for Dexter by Amanda Whittington

Shortlist - Prostrate by Martin Jameson

Shortlist - Someone Dangerous by Andy Mulligan


Winner - The Voyage of the St Louis by Daniel Kehlmann

Finalist - Grossman's War: Stalingrad by Vasily Grossman

Finalist - Oliver: Lagos to London by Charles Dickes

Shortlist - Cane by Jean Toomer

Shortlist - Oil on Water by Helon Habila

Shortlist - The Plague by Albert Camus


Winner - David Threlfall in Happiness!

Finalist - Robin Laing in This Thing of Darkness

Finalist - Matthew Needham in Othello

Shortlist - Idris Debrand in Oil on Water

Shortlist - Toby Jones in Henry IV Part 1

Shortlist - Jack Lowden in R. L. Stevenson's Weir of Hermiston


Winner - Maggie Steed in Suffer Little Children

Finalist - Shauna Macdonald in This Thing of Darkness

Finalist - Marcia Warren in 24 Kildare Rd

Shortlist - Siobhan McSweeney in Nora Webster

Shortlist - Frances Tomelty in The Ballad of Bobby Sands

Shortlist - Harriet Walter in Absent in the Spring

Debut Performance

Winner - Jordan Nash in Oliver: Lagos to London

Finalist - Dan Krikler in Unicorns, Almost

Finalist - Valentine Olukoga in Half of a Yellow Sun

Shortlist - Libbi Mai in Girl With a Pearl Earring

Shortlist - Eliott Steel in Unite

Shortlist - Luke Wright in Christabel

Use of Sound

Winner - The Grey Man and Other Lost Legends sound by Steve Bond

Finalist - Cane sound by Nigel Lewis

Finalist - Over and Out (Murmurs Ep 1) sound by Catherine Robinson
- My Review

Shortlist - Bar Answer sound by Steve Bond

Shortlist - Islands sound by Chris Watson and Ruth Kennington

Shortlist - The Kubrick Test sound by Alisdair McGregor

Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Winner - The Musical Life of… by Dan Kiss and Dave Cribb
- My Review

Finalist - Alone by Moray Hunter
- My Review

Finalist - Tristam Shandy: In Development by Christopher Douglas

Shortlist - Charles Paris: A Doubtful Death by Jeremy Front

Shortlist - Reincarnathan by Tom Craine and Henry Paker
- My Review

Shortlist - Tim Key's Late Night Poetry Programme by Tim Key
- My Review

Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

Winner - The Skewer by Jon Holmes
- My Review

Finalist - Agendum by Joel Morris and Jason Hazeley
- My Review

Finalist - The Lenny Henry Show by Multiple

Shortlist - Newsjack by Multiple

Shortlist - SeanceCast by Charlie Dinkin and Zoe Tomalin

Shortlist - Thanks a Lot, Milton Jones by Milton Jones, James Cary and Dan Evans
- My Review

Podcast or Online Audio Drama

Winner - Unwell: a Midwestern Gothic Mystery by Jeffrey Nils Gardner and Eleanor Hyde

Finalist - Murmurs by Multiple
- My Review

Finalist - Tribulation by Adam Jahnke
- My Review
- Amazon UK

Shortlist - Children of the Stones by AK Benedict and Guy Adams

Shortlist - Fake Heiress by Vicky Baker and Chloe Moss

Shortlist - The Sink by Natasha Hodgson
- My Review

European Drama

Winner - Earthquake by Janko Polić Kamov

Finalist - Holidays from Suicide: a Fantastic Journey with Iggy Pop by Birgit Kempker and Anatol Atonal

Finalist - In Winter by Multiple

Shortlist - In the Absence by Manu Barceló

Shortlist - Leaba an Bháis by Darach Mac Con Iomaire

Shortlist - Three Lives of Dmitri Shostakovich by Pavel Molek

Imison Award

Winner - Fraser Ayres for Maynard

Finalist - Isaac Fisher for Scoop McDoolie

Finalist - Ella Skolimowski for LoveSick

Tinniswood Award

Winner - Christopher Douglas for Tristam Shandy: In Development

Finalist - Becky Prestwich for Just the Three of Us

Finalist - Anita Vessette with Eileen Horne for This Thing of Darkness Episode 7

Finalist - Isabel Wright for Shrapnel

The Year of Reinvention Award for Most Creative Response to the Global Pandemic

Winner - Lockdown Theatre Festival produced by Multiple

Finalist - Connections produced by Polly Thomas

Finalist - The Plague produced by Turan Ali

Shortlist - A Fortunate Man produced by John Norton

Shortlist - Free Your Mind produced by Noemi Gunea

Shortlist - Goblin Market produced by Jessica Dromgoole

Tagged: Awards Audio BBC